Crystal Kay

Real Name : Crystal Kay Williams

Born: 02/26/1986 (36 yo)
Birth place: Yokohama (Japan)

Citizenship : Asian Countries, (Japan)
Ethnicity : American father and Korean mother

Occupation : Singer
Active Years: 1999-present


Crystal Kay is a Japanese recording artist and radio host and occasional actress. She debuted at the age of 13.

Kay was born and raised in Yokohama in Kanagawa Prefecture to an African American father and a Zainichi Korean mother. Her father was a bassist from New Jersey and a sailor in the United States Navy stationed in Yokosuka, Japan. Her mother was a 23-year-old professional singer with one album while her father played music as a hobby.


After releasing her debut single "Eternal Memories" (1999) Kay gained fame for her third studio album, Almost Seventeen (2002), which debuted at number 2 on the Japanese Oricon charts. Almost Seventeen eventually sold over 400,000 copies and was certified platinum by the Recording Industry Association of Japan. Kay, formerly signed to Epic Records, a sub-label of Sony Music Japan for 12 years, suddenly transferred to Delicious Deli Records, a sub-label of Universal Music Japan in 2011.

As of July 2009, Kay has released ten albums. Her seventh studio album, All Yours (2007) became Kay's first number-one release in her career when it debuted on top of the Oricon chart in June 2007. Kay has sold over two million records in Japan as of 2009. Throughout her career, Kay has collaborated with M-Flo and BoA, Chemistry as well as other well-known recording artists.

Websites & Social Networks


Japanese Studio albums

  • C.L.L Crystal Lover Light (2000)
  • 637: Always and Forever (2001)
  • Almost Seventeen (2002)
  • 4 Real (2003)
  • Crystal Style (2005)
  • Call Me Miss... (2006)
  • All Yours (2007)
  • Color Change! (2008)
  • Spin the Music (2010)
  • Vivid (2012)

English Studio Albums

  • Natural: World Premiere Album (2003)



  • 2010      Hidarime Tantei Eye


  • 2008      Pokémon: Giratina and the Sky Warrior  (voice)
  • 2009      Yamagata Scream
  • 2011      Happy Feet Two